DIY for 2012

3 Jan

I’m starting my 2012 with some fun projects around the house which I hope to share with you all as I get to them. This first project is one that I have wanted to try for a while…a simple sweater skirt. I’m not sure what the trends are in Sweden at the moment, but this winter sweater-skirts have been all the rage. The one pictured below is from a very popular store Anthropologie and costs $98!

I thought I’d try making my own version and the results were great- few materials + easy assembly = great winter skirt! Here’s my process:

Bought a $3.50 sweater at the thrift store.

Used my favorite skirt as the pattern and traced directly onto the sweater with a red marker.

Sewed up the sides.

Added 3/4 inch elastic to the top.

And vio-la– new skit!

I’m so pleased with the results that I bought a few more sweaters at the thrift store to make more.

To crafting more in 2012,

/b

_____

Jag börjar 2012 med lite olika projekt hemma som jag ska försöka dela med er här. Först ut är ett projekt som jag velat testa länge – en “tröj-kjol”! Jag är mycket nöjd med resultatet och har redan köpt ett gäng tröjor till på loppis som jag ska göra om till fler kjolar. 

3 Responses to “DIY for 2012”

  1. Sarah Rose January 3, 2012 at 19:36 #

    So cool! I hope you’re planning on making one for meeeee ; ) Pretty please?

  2. deborahbidwell January 3, 2012 at 16:57 #

    great Idea, how did you keep the sweater from fraying at the edges?

    • britaandelsa January 3, 2012 at 17:33 #

      thanks! The bottom hem of the skirt is what used to be the hem of the sweater. I aligned my pattern so it would match with the bottom of the sweater so there would be no need to create a new hem. On the top of the skirt, I inclosed the elastic into the upper hem which secured the waistband and kept it from fraying.

Leave a Reply

