Birthday Cake with Cloudberries

29 Dec

I’ve left the farm and I’m back in Malmö again, in time for New Year-celebrations. Regarding the cake I made for my mother yesterday… I did a Sacher cake but changed the apricot filling to cloudberries instead.

I love baking and cooking in my parent’s home, there is soo much more space compared to my kitchen.

And there are lovely things, like a fireplace stove.

As for making the cake, you need this:

125 g butter

1,5 dl sugar

250 g melted dark chocolate

120 g almond (mixed to a powder)

0,5 dl flour

4 eggs

*

1 dl apricot jam (I used cloudberries instead)

150 g dark chocolate

15 g butter

Mix butter, sugar, melted chocolate, almond-powder, flour and the egg yolks. Whip the egg whites and then blend the foam with the batter. Pour it in a form an bake it for about 30 min in 175 degrees C. Let it cool down and then cover the cake in jam. Let it stiffen in the fridge for at least 1 hour. Melt the other chocolate with a spoon of butter and cover the cake with it. Let it stand for a couple of hours before serving. Voíla!

Before the oven.

Cloudberry-jam, there is no need to be this ambitious and make it yourself but I think it’s fun.

Cake covered in jam.

Here’s a picture taken just before the birthday-dinner started. 

And the finished cake.

/Elsa

_____

Receptet på födelsedagstårtan jag gjorde till min mamma igår, Sachertårta med hjortonsylt. 

One Response to “Birthday Cake with Cloudberries”

  1. Brita December 30, 2011 at 12:46 #

    so lovely!

Leave a Reply

