Advent Decoration

23 Nov

In Sweden we celebrate advent, the four Sundays leading up to christmas and the first of advent this year is this week. Being a christmas-lover this makes me very excited and today I couldn’t help myself from starting to decorate and make things to get in the right mood. There will be quite a lot of DIY’s and tips in the blog from now on regarding the holidays. Let’s start with some christmas flowers:

I bought some white hyacinths (Hyacinthus orientalis) at the market and placed three of them in a big cylinder glass-vase. 

Then I removed the plastic pots and filled up with soil (a drainage layer would have been good though, maybe some small stones in the bottom of the vase).

Thereafter I decorated the soil with moss and red buttons and placed the vase in my living-room, can’t wait for the hyacinths to blossom, love their scent!

I searched my cabinets for some decoration and found these cute buttons, I think they look good resting amongst the flowers in the moss. And I really like christmas decorations that aren’t as obvious as Santa. 

I gave Solveig a winter-look as well with a knitted scarf… She didn’t really like it though (surprise!) so it didn’t stay on for long. 

Brita, I hope your flight went well and that all is good in Boston.

/Elsa

_____

På söndag är det första advent och idag kunde jag inte hålla mig längre utan började dekorera och fixa för att komma i rätt stämning inför julen. Köpte hyacinter på torget och gjorde ett arrangemang i en glasvas med mossa och röda knappar. Solveig fick en halsduk men den var inte så populär överraskande nog…

Leave a Reply

