Jack-o’-lantern time

30 Oct

Tomorrow is Halloween!

I’m not one to dress up and party, but I love the holiday for  its other traditions: pumpkin carving, hot apple cider, roasted pumpkin seeds and watching the anticipation build for kids with thoughts of trick-or-treating.

I enjoy carving pumpkins but I hadn’t carved one in years. I was inspired by some old photos of my parents just after they were married, they look so young and beautiful. I realized that we would look back on our photos in 31 years and think the same thing…so my husband and I decided to make it a tradition.

mom and dad 1980, me and my hubby 2011

One of my favorite parts about carving pumpkins is roasting the seeds. They are so simple to prepare and serve as a great snack while you work on carving. You just toss them in a little olive oil and salt and bake them in the oven on 350F for about 15mins. YUM! Salty and crunchy- they remind me a little of popcorn.

More Halloween posts to come….stay tuned.

/brita

2 Responses to “Jack-o’-lantern time”

  1. Kate October 31, 2011 at 14:16 #

    These pictures are so sweet Brita – I’m so glad to find your blog!

    • britaandelsa November 5, 2011 at 10:59 #

      Yeah! Thanks Kate. We just started…who knows what will happen:)

Leave a Reply

